Stellenbosch University

Organisation Acronym: 

When Stellenbosch University was officially established in 1918, agriculture was one of the first four faculties. In 2006 the faculties of agriculture and forestry merged to become the Faculty of AgriSciences. The Faculty has 11 departments: agronomy; conservation ecology and entomology; forest and wood science; genetics; soil science; horticultural sciences; agricultural economics; plant pathology; animal science; food science; and viticulture and oenology. The Institute for Plant Biotechonology, The Institute for Wine Biotechnology and the Standard Bank Centre for Agribusiness Leadership and Mentorship Development are also part of the faculty. The two experimental farms – Welgevallen and Mariendahl – are managed by the Faculty and they are mainly utilised for training at undergraduate level as well as for postgraduate projects by postgraduates and staff members. The Faculty offers degrees from the BSc. through to the PhD. level.

Country of Coverage: 
South Africa
Region of Coverage: 
Southern Africa
Year of joining RUFORUM: 
Membership Status: 
Full Member